Preseli Part 2

At long last, here is an account of our Saturday at Preseli – spent sea kayaking and coasteering!

We started our morning by kayaking. When we arrived at the harbor a salty, chilly breeze was whispering past us, but we were kept warm by our wet suits and our anticipation of adventure.

Ready for Kayaking

Following a brief “how to” session (during which I may or may not have been guilty of splashing my flat mates a few times), we headed out into the sea. We tried our paddles at “rock-hopping” – essentially surfing a wave between rocks – explored the coast, peeked into some caves, and were visited by some seals.

Rock Hopping

Caves

Like a kid in a candy shop

It was as if we had entered a world made up only of sea, rocks, and wind. I have done my fair share of kayaking, but this was a whole new experience – certainly no moseying spring fed river! It was absolutely beautiful. If I could be out there in my little kayak every day, seeing the change of tides and seasons, I think I would be perfectly content.

Sadly, a time did come to return to shore. After “racing” one of the guides – who rammed my boat, so I think that means I automatically win, right? – we clambered out onto the beach, changed into dry clothes, and loaded up our boats.

Back at Preseli we were treated to homemade, hot soup served with cheese and freshly baked bread. I had just enough time to satisfy my tea addiction before heading out once again, this time for coasteering. We put on even tighter wet suits, helmets, and shorts, with ominous gashes in them, for extra padding.

If you have never heard of coasteering, wikipedia (ever the reliable source) defines it as “a physical activity that encompasses movement along the intertidal zone of a rocky coastline on foot or by swimming, without the aid of boats, surf boards or other craft.” It may include any of the following: swimming, adventure swimming, climbing, scrambling, canyoning, sea level traversing, jumping, and diving. Our afternoon was certainly filled with plenty of swimming, climbing, scrambling, and jumping! Essentially, coasteering is a way to get up close and personal with mother nature’s coast line.

Hello, Mother Nature!

I must admit that, before we had gone, coasteering was the one activity that I was not feeling quite so confident about. As in, there is no instinct in me that will ever tell me to jump off of a cliff…unless I am being chased by, I don’t know, a bear, or wildebeest (Simbaaaaa!!!!)  But when it came down to it, this was my favorite part of the trip. Okay, I’ll admit, there was one jump that I had to think about for a long time before I took that leap, and I’m sure I looked super awkward climbing around in my extra tight wet suit, but I loved every minute of it. It pushed me out of my comfort zone and was something I had never dreamed of doing.

Ahhhh!!!!

Climbing Around

Riding the waves

In the end, I came out with a few barnacle scratches (hence the extra shorts with the gashes), clear sinuses (thank you, salt water), and a huge sense of accomplishment.

Taking it all in

All that’s left to say is thank you, Preseli Ventures, for the chance of a lifetime! You have truly changed my world!

62 thoughts on “Preseli Part 2

    • I had never heard of it before just a few weeks ago. It was such a good experience, you should try it some time! Thanks for reading : )

  1. So awesome! I had never heard of the term “coasteering” until now. It looks really fun, but I know if I were actually there, I would contemplate the jump for a while before actually doing it! I’m glad you stepped out of your comfort zone. Experiences like that are unforgettable!

  2. Wow, I’ve been there before with the lifeguard group from my boarding school (Atlantic College)
    I really enjoyed the essay. And I fully agree: rock hopping in that area is on a completely different level. Not only because the tide could be rough, but also because of the startlng scenery!!

  3. dear Lord! Just amazing and breathtaking photos. I hope one day I get a chance to have an adventure of a life time as well.

  4. Thank you, everyone, for reading! I’m glad you all enjoyed it so much, and I hope you continue to join me in my future adventures.

    • Thanks! I’m sure summer in Preseli is absolutely gorgeous, but autumn was wonderful, too – thank goodness for winter wet-suits.

  5. What a great adventure- and inspiring to know you didn’t want to jump off the cliff, but it turned out to be a good thing. Bravo! Loved the part about “ominous gashes in the shorts”. (: The taking it all in photo was the perfect ending…and adorable!

  6. What gorgeous phots! Thank you for sharing them! I had never heard of coasteering either, but with my fear of heights, you’re already miles ahead of me with jumping off the cliff. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed.

  7. I was just reading freshly pressed and saw your post and had to read it because I live just around the corner from Preseli venture and my friend works there too and I love kayaking and coasteering too!
    Glad to hear you had an ace time. Nice post, love the photos and the bit about you racing one of the instructors, yes you definitely win if they had to resort to ramming!

    • I’m glad you got a chance to read it! Getting to share about Preseli with everyone has been wonderful. I hope that some of my readers will get a chance to go there – I am very jealous that you live in that area. I can’t wait to go back one day! Thanks for your lovely comment : )

  8. Pingback: Don’t Look Down | Worth a Journey

Leave a comment