Christmas Time is Here!

Confession: For the last month I have secretly been humming Christmas carols to myself. With the early arrival of lights and and the changing of window displays at the beginning of November, it was hard for me to know whether the Christmas season in London had actually started or not. Was it all a commercial scam to get eager shoppers to start buying their Christmas gifts? Or was it, indeed, a free pass to be filled with Christmas cheer?

The gates of Christmas?

My internal, yuletide turmoil finally ended yesterday with the coming of Thanksgiving. As an American, I now feel that I possess free licence to carol, wear red and green, and go to Christmas markets. And a Christmas market is precisely how some friends and I started the season.

Full of Thanksgiving potluck, we made our way to “Winter Wonderland” – a London Christmas institution. Located in Hyde Park it has everything from food to rides. But the real draw for us was some good, old fashioned, ice skating!

The Ice Rink

Ice skating was wonderful. A little crowded, but the Christmas music, halo of lights, “hush” of blade on ice, and even a little live music made up for it. If you could ignore the flailing arms in front of you (or rather avoid them) it was like being in a Christmas movie – what more could I want!

Stands and Ferris Wheel

The rest of the “Wonderland” was fun, too. They were definitely going for the German (Bavarian) Christmas Market theme, which was a little funny for someone who has actually been to many German Christmas Markets. For example, I have yet to see a haunted house at Christmas time in Germany. Maybe they have them in the south, but (in my experience) not in the north. But it was quirky, and made for lots of laughs.

There were stands selling gifts and trinkets…

Hedgehog!

Carnival Games…

Reindeer Racing

And plenty of food and drink…

Even Santa owns a Pub

At one point I ordered an “Eggnog.” I love eggnog as a special holiday treat in the US, and assumed that England must be the home of such a wonderful Christmas highlight. When I ordered, the woman told me that she had no cream (it was advertised as “eggnog with cream”) I assumed this meant whipped cream. I told the woman I would take one anyway. She seemed happy enough to serve me, so I didn’t question the “no cream.” That is, until a friend ordered hot chocolate, which came with whipped cream on the top. I sipped my eggnog contemplatively. I usually stray from claiming that something in the US is superior to that same thing in Europe (different strokes for different folks, right?), but that was NOT the eggnog I was expecting. How do I even describe it? Juice with egg-yolks? Yellow mystery alcohol? A very poor choice? I will reserve judgement of English eggnog until I have seen whether this  is the standard – perhaps the cream would make all the difference. If that is the case, I only wish the woman at the stand had told me what I was getting myself into “without cream”. But what are the holidays abroad without a little cultural misunderstanding?

If you are American, I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving yesterday, and to all, a very merry start to the Christmas season!

5 thoughts on “Christmas Time is Here!

  1. Eggnog is not something I’ve ever had (as a Brit) so I can’t comment on the taste. It may or may not have originated here (no idea!) but it’s not really a common part of the festivities for most of us, I don’t think. I more think of mulled wine as being Christmassy.

    • It is indeed! Also worth a visit are the Christmas window displays on Bond street (in the Mayfair district). They are very lavish – like those in New York City, but with a little London flavor. And who doesn’t like the sparkle of diamonds in snow?

Leave a comment