Lights, Camera, Action

Read to the end to watch my student’s videos! You’ll be glad you did.

Living in Indonesia and serving in the Peace Corps is teaching me that if I want to see something happen, I just have to do it.

Back in October, I wrote a post about there being no manual for life – no list of steps from A to Z of everything you should do in a day. Prior to that realization (and at times since), I spent too much time waiting to feel “prepared” or “experienced” enough to take on my bigger goals. I thought, “If only I could learn a little more or have a few more years under my belt, I can finally get to steps X, Y, and Z.”

The truth is, I don’t think many of us ever feel as prepared and experienced as we would like to. Sometimes all the preparation we need is to find within ourselves the drive to go out and do.

In October I had another brain wave: an international video exchange. I wanted my students to see people their own age living and learning in another country. I wanted them to see their international peers going to school, playing sports, reading books, and eating their favorite foods. And I wanted the students from that other country to see my students – students living in predominantly Muslim, rural Indonesia. Students who like pop music and horror movies and fried chicken.

It would be like penpals for the modern age – a creative, group endeavor to share and learn. And ultimately, it would put human faces on the names of countries and political and religious philosophies. That, my readers, is where I believe peace begins, and I am in the Peace Corps after all.

There was one problem. I had never done anything like this in my life. Sure, I had messed around editing some videos for college classes, and I had worked with middle schoolers before. But how would I organize an exchange with countless students across borders and belief systems armed only with my camera, laptop, and wifi connection?

I was afraid of what would happen if it failed – if I got people involved only to have everything unraveled because I had no idea what I was doing. Maybe in a year I would feel more prepared.

But then it hit me, now was as good a time as any. So I dove in. I started telling people about it, I did my research, and I started getting kids at my school involved.

It hasn’t been a smooth road, and we are far from my goal. There have been road blocks and pot holes. Language is, of course, an issue. Everyone has busy schedules and it was hard to get my students interested in the beginning.

Even though things look a little different now from how I had imagined them back in October, they are happening! My students are using the English they have learned in class and are thinking about the lives of individual people half-way around the world.

And as for me, I have learned so much. By doing, I have learned the very things I thought I needed to know before beginning. I’m learning how to organize and edit, how to inspire and encourage. And I’m learning that my students are creative, brave, and endlessly amazing. Every time I watch one of the videos, I can’t help smiling.

So today I want to share two of the videos my students have made with you. These students are curious and smart. Their English is basic, but they are so excited to share their lives with the world and learn about the lives of others. Here they are, sharing a tiny piece of themselves with you!

This first video is of my accelerated class – so proud!

And this shorter video was made by some of my school’s 7th grade students.

For all I know, the exchange could fall apart next week, but I don’t think it will. And even if it did, I would be glad I had done it. My students are learning, and I am learning with them.

Whatever your big dreams are, I hope you find some courage today to take a step and dive in. You may not end up where you had imagined, but you will have grown and you will never be the same.

4 thoughts on “Lights, Camera, Action

  1. PCV in Mozambiqe. Great idea, and I would totally be willing to help you out over here. If you get a chance, I’m trying to do the old school way of postcards or letters. Check out my postcard project tab on my blog if you’re willing to help out

Leave a comment