Tailor Made

When is the last time you went to a tailor? Perhaps, to have some pants hemmed? Or maybe you needed a dress or a suit taken in? Maybe you’ve never been to the tailor!

Here in Indonesia, everyone goes to the tailor. As my Indonesian friends put it succinctly, “In America, you go to the tailor to have clothes fixed. In Indonesia, you go to the tailor to have clothes made.”

My tailor's recent work.

My tailor’s recent work.

The tailor can make almost anything you need, from a basic pair of slacks to a glamorous wedding kebaya. When teachers or students need new uniforms, they buy the fabric and take it to their neighborhood tailor. Indonesia is also home to some beautiful textiles, and batik is often given as a gift.

My fabric, waiting to be transformed.

My fabric, waiting to be transformed.

I recently received some new fabric from my school, and documented its journey to my local tailor, Mbak Sih.

Mbak (Miss) Sih and I are in the middle. The women on the sides also work with her.

Mbak (Miss) Sih and I are in the middle. The women on the sides also work with her.

Step 1: Measure Up

This is always the part when everyone says,

This is always the part when everyone says, “Miss! You are so tall!”

A trip to the tailor is an exercise in honesty. Between your waistline and the measuring tape, there are no secrets. It’s truth, and it’s freedom. Embrace your curves, your edges, and your beautiful self!

Getting those measurements just right.

Really, I’m too ticklish for this…

Step 2: Design Talk

IMG_9992

A master at work.

I take a long time to decide what to order off a menu, let alone how to design my clothes. Let’s just say I’m no Coco Chanel. Good thing I had two friends along and a room full of busily sewing women to help me out! After a short discussion in which my most profound contribution was, “No bows!” the tailor jotted down a pattern.

Measurements finished and design decided, the fabric will be cut and sewn by these women on these machines. Now this is

Measurements finished and design decided, the fabric will be cut and sewn by these women on these machines. Now this is “Made in Indonesia”.

Step 3: Rock Those Matching Outfits

Lookin' fresh...because our clothes were literally made the week before.

Lookin’ fresh…because our clothes were literally made the week before.

The beauty of the tailor is that you never have to worry about finding matching outfits in everyone’s size – a definite bonus when you are the token giant. Fabric in hand, you can all be ready for twin-day in two weeks or less. Another great bonus? This custom-made outfit cost me less than $9. And, presumably because I’m so charming, the tailor had one of her employees shorten some pants for me for free! How’s that for getting bang for your buck? IMG_0068Curious to see what else I’ve had made at the tailor? Check out my post on what teachers wear to school.

3 thoughts on “Tailor Made

  1. Pingback: Beautiful Batik | Worth a Journey

  2. Hi Kelly, I just discovered your blog today and I love reading it. I am an Indonesian currently living abroad. It’s so refreshing to see from your point of view the everyday-things I never thought about and now am thinking about while reading your blog. Hope you enjoy the rest of your stay there!

    • So glad to know that you are reading and enjoying my blog – thanks! Indonesia is an amazing country, and my time here has been filled with so many new sights and sounds. I hope your own adventure abroad are going well!

Leave a comment